SEC disclosure text mining (minor) project update

I’ve been having fun dealing with the joys of unstructured text processing. The ambiguity in the previous sentence is deliberate: I mean both the joys of processing unstructured text, as well as the joy of unstructured processing of text. Of course, by “joy” I mean “frustration, punctuated by enough progress to keep me going while thoroughly reminding me I am not a competent programmer”.

Anyway, returning to the diagram of my little scheme (ooh, a schematic diagram!):

Since my last update, I have been focusing on the creation of the “risk files”. These are individual text files, containing one or more identified “risk factors” that a firm has identified in Part II, section 1A, of a quarterly report. My task is to identify which 10-Q reports contain this specific section, and to extract that section (and only that section) into a text file which can then be processed further. This is not as straightforward as one might think, because these reports are only semi-structured. Moreover, since they are so numerous, the mechanism must be automated. I am taking a trial and error approach. Essentially, I continue to refine the little Perl script I am using to identify 10-Qs with a “risk factors” section until its accuracy when run against groups of randomly selected input files is high enough. I should have an initial benchmark by this weekend. I expect it to be poor.

At any rate, once these files can be created with reasonable success, it will be desirable to determine which of them contain what I have been calling “cyber risks” (an abbreviated variant of the SEC’s “cybersecurity risks and cyber incidents“). To do this, I am taking baby steps toward creating an automated document classifier, which I will train with manually-identified cyber- and non-cyber risk files. I hope to report progress toward this classifier (as well as in the automatic extraction discussed in the previous paragraph) in an upcoming post.

This entry was posted in Programming, SEC Project, Security. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

